The requested resource (/media/wual/header/pb/header.html) is not available
Last updated 3:27AM ET
February 25, 2021
Appointees for Alabama A&M Board of Trustees Rejected
(APR - Alabama Public Radio ) - The Confirmations Committee of the Alabama Senate has rejected Gov. Bob Riley's four appointments to the Alabama A&M University board of trustees.

Committee Chairman Myron Penn said Wednesday there were divisions among A&M's alumni and supporters because Riley's appointees were instrumental in firing A&M President Robert Jennings at the end of March. Penn said that in voting 8-0 to reject the four appointees, the committee was sending a message that it's best for the governor to start over with a new slate.

A&M's trustees begin serving when they are appointed by the governor and continue to serve unless rejected by the Senate. The committee's rejection ends their service.

They are Leroy C. Richie of Birmingham, Mayor Edward E. May of Bessemer, the Rev. Willie Clyde McNeil of Chatom, and David J. Slyman Jr. of Huntsville.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)
© Copyright 2021, APR - Alabama Public Radio