The requested resource (/media/wual/header/pb/header.html) is not available
Last updated 5:12AM ET
March 5, 2021
Bush Approves Federal Disaster Funds for Alabama
(APR - Alabama Public Radio ) - Governor Riley says President Bush has granted the state's request for a federal disaster declaration for six counties - They are: Coffee, Wilcox, Dale, Henry, Dallas and Montgomery. Riley and the state Emergency Management Agency submitted the paperwork Monday.
The declaration mean citizens and businesses can begin applying for assistance to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and storm-related expenses. The aid will come from the Federal Emergency Management Agency. Low-interest loans also will be offered through the US Small Business Administration to cover other losses not fully insured. In a related matter - FEMA opened a Disaster Recovery Center yesterday in Camden at 7533 Highway 28 West.
Individuals in the six counties who suffered damage on March first can call 1-800-621-FEMA to apply for assistance. The number for the hearing and speech impaired is 1-800-462-7585.
© Copyright 2021, APR - Alabama Public Radio