The requested resource (/media/wskg/header/pb/header.html) is not available
Tools
Tools
Search Arts
Search Arts
go
On TV
On TV
On Radio
On Radio
ARTS INDEX
Kitchen Theatre presents Bed No Breakfast, World Premiere Musical in Ithaca--extended through Feb. 16
Bed No Breakfast at the Kitchen Theatre
Kitchen Theatre presents <i>Bed No Breakfast</i>, World Premiere Musical in Ithaca--extended through Feb. 16
Rachel Lampert and Larry Pressgrove speak with WSKG's Bill Snyder. The Kitchen Theatre Company presents world premiere musical by Rachel Lampert and Larry Pressgrove
BED NO BREAKFAST


RUN EXTENDED THROUGH FEBRUARY 16
Wednesdays & Thursdays at 7:30pm; Fridays & Saturdays at 8:00pm & Sundays at 4:00pm

Tickets (607) 273-4497
website: www.kitchentheatre.org

Warm up and get out of the snow this January/February with a host of quirky characters who are also escaping the cold. In BED NO BREAKFAST, six people are waylaid by a blizzard in Michigan's Upper Peninsula and seek shelter at the UP B&B - a bed and breakfast probably not found on the list of "best cozy and quaint" places to stay. The owner would prefer no guests at all and was certainly not expecting so many this particular night. And what a group it is! Compounding the lack of camaraderie of the group is the lack of comforts of the inn. How long can strangers wait out a storm outside before a storm erupts inside?

BED NO BREAKFAST is the fourth musical by the creative team of Rachel Lampert (book & lyrics) and Larry Pressgrove (music). Their previous musicals are TONY AND THE SOPRANO, COMFORT FOOD, and The Angle of the Sun (chosen for inclusion in the 2007 New York Musical Theater Festival and had performances in September 2007 at the Sage Theater in New York City.) In BED NO BREAKFAST, Lampert and Pressgrove do something new again: they have written a musical that revels in full ensemble scenes and songs, with a cast of seven.

The cast brings together many Kitchen favorite actor/singers, including Erica Steinhagen, Norma Fire and Jessica Flood . Dan Kiely, seen last season in AFTER ASHLEY, makes his KTC musical debut. They are joined by Brett Bossard and Jessica Carr, who have appeared in original musicals on the Family Fare series, and newcomer Tony Simione. Richard Montgomery is the music director.

Norma Fire is Mrs. L, the quirky owner of the B&B and her guests Chance (Erica Steinhagen), Jake (Dan Kiely), Marla (Jessica Flood), Will (Brett Bossard), Henry (Tony Simione) and Greta (Jessica Carr) struggle through their three-day confinement with no conveniences and lots of parlor games.The Kitchen Theatre is transformed into a rustic B&B by scenic designer Steve TenEyck. Hannah Kochman designed the costumes. Stage management is by resident stage manager Stephen Wagner.

Performance Dates:
January 17, 2007, Thursday at 7:30 pm (Preview 1 of 2)
January 18, 2007, Friday at 8:00 pm (Preview 2 of 2)
January 19, 2007, Saturday at 8:00 pm (Press/Opening/Reception)
January 20, 2007, Sunday at 4:00 pm (Matinee 1 of 4)
January 23, 2007, Wednesday at 7:30 pm
January 24, 2007, Thursday at 7:30 pm
January 25, 2007, Friday at 8:00 pm
January 26, 2007, Saturday at 8:00 pm
January 27, 2007, Sunday at 4:00 pm (Matinee 2 of 4)
January 30, 2007, Wednesday at 7:30 pm
January 31, 2007, Thursday at 7:30 pm
February 1, 2007, Friday at 8:00 pm
February 2, 2007, Saturday at 8:00 pm
February 3, 2007, Sunday at 4 pm (Matinee 4 of 4)
February 6, 2007, Wednesday at 7:30 pm
February 7, 2007, Thursday at 7:30 pm
February 8, 2007, Friday at 8:00 pm
February 9, 2007, Saturday at 8:00 pm
February 10, 2007, Sunday at 4:00 pm (Closing)