The requested resource (/media/woub/header/news/header.html) is not available
Last updated 10:20PM ET
July 22, 2018
WOUB Local News
WOUB Local News
Election bids are in
(WOUB) - There's a last-minute challenge to Athens County Prosecutor Dave Warren's bid for re-election.

Moments before the four-o'clock filing deadline, attorney and local Democratic Party Chair Susan Gwinn filed to run against Warren in the march fourth primary.

Now there are nine people running for Athens County Commissioner.

The primary will feature seven democrats and two republicans running to succeed Athens County Commissioner Bill Theisen.

Chad Kisster and David Ratliff were the last to file on the Democratic side, the deadline was at 4:00 p.m.

He joins Charlie Adkins, Bob Baughman, Douglas Davis, Aliene Linwood, and James Pancake.

The two republicans are Larry Payne and Joe Yanity.

There are also two democrats running for Athens County Sheriff, incumbent Vern Castle and Pat Kelly, who has run against him before.

In the race for the 92nd State House District, Willie Holbert from Washington County has filed to run against Athens County Auditor Jill Thompson in the Republican primary.

On the Democratic side, Debbie Phillips is unopposed.

They're running to succeed Jimmy Stewart, who's making a bid for the State Senate seat that Joy Padgett now holds.

All declared candidates have until one month from now - February 4th - to file financial disclosure forms with the State Ethics Commission.

The primary is exactly two months away.
© Copyright 2018, WOUB