The requested resource (/media/woub/header/news/header.html) is not available
Last updated 4:28AM ET
July 20, 2018
WOUB Local News
WOUB Local News
Athens candidates file to run
(WOUB) - Seven people want to succeed Athens County Commissioner Bill Theisen when he leaves office after this year.

Five Democrats and two Republicans have filed to run in the primary.

The Democrats are Charlie Adkins, Bob Baughman, Douglas Davis, Aliene Linwood, and James Pancake.

The two Republicans are Larry Payne and Joe Yanity.

The only other contested primary in Athens County is for sheriff.

Incumbent Vern Castle has decided to seek re-election and his Democratic opponent is Pat Kelly.

Candidates have until four o'clock this afternoon to get their paperwork in to the Board of Elections.
© Copyright 2018, WOUB