The requested resource (/media/wgvu/header/pb/header.html) is not available
Last updated 3:40PM ET
March 7, 2021
Search NewsRoom
Search NewsRoom
go
Advanced Search
Tools
Tools
Local/State News
Local/State News
Child Safety Seats
(2008-03-27)
(wgvu) - LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Governor Jennifer Granholm has signed
legislation requiring all children who are both under age 8 and
shorter than 4-foot-9 to be fastened into booster seats.
The new measure takes effect July 1. Violators will face fines
of up to $65 per offense.
It adds to Michigan law requiring children under 4 to ride in a
child restraint system.
Sponsors of the legislation signed Thursday say most of the
children between 4 and 8 years old who are seriously injured in
auto accidents aren't restrained in a booster seat.
Michigan will become the 39th state to adopt an expanded booster
seat law.
© Copyright 2021, wgvu