The requested resource (/media/ksut/header/pb/header.html) is not available
Last updated 5:46PM ET
December 13, 2017
KSUT Regional
KSUT Regional
Election Updates in Southwest Colorado
(ksut) - HOST LEAD: Election Day is today for some residents in Southwest Colorado. Bayfield 10 JT-R School District is the only contested race in La Plata County.

Montezuma Cortez Re-1 School District has one contested race as well, while voters who reside in the Dolores School District Re-4A will vote for three contested seats.

KSUT's Sarah Baumgartner reports.

SARAH: Residents of Bayfield, Dolores and the Montezuma Cortez school districts have until 7:00 tonight to vote for candidates running for School Board in both counties.
The mail in ballot for Montezuma County voters also includes referendums 1A-1D, which would lengthen the terms for Montezuma County clerk and recorder, county treasurer, county assessor and sheriff from two four year terms to three four year terms.
Residents of the unincorporated areas of Montezuma county can vote for Referendum 1E which is establishing the Montezuma County Law Enforcement Authority. This referendum would give the sheriff's office over a half million dollars in additional funds for new hires as well as pay increases for current deputies.
Montezuma Cortez Re-1 school district's voters have a choice between two new comers to the Board of Directors for the one contested seat, Lawrence P. Conrads and Susan E. Claxton.
The voters in the Dolores Re-4A school district in Montezuma county have 5 candidates to choose from for three open seats; Melinda Becher, Latifa Tif Rodriguez, incumbent secretary to the board, Sandra L. Pyle, Michael F. Green, and incumbent treasurer Theresa L. Philips.
The sole election in La Plata County is in Bayfield. Items on the mail in ballot include three at large members for the school board as well as a question on the Bayfield Sanitation District.
The item on the ballot about the district would ne that the district would dissolve and give liability and assets of the treatment operations to the town instead of the Sanitation District remaining as its own separate entity.
Bayfield residents also have an opportunity to vote for three school board members. Candidates running for Bayfield 10 JT-R School Board are, current Secretary/Treasurer to the board Bill Faust, Jeff Eckstein, Donald Mooney, Scott Kujath, incumbent member and Susan J. Folk.
School Board elections in Ignacio and Durango were cancelled after three candidates were declared for the three open seats
Bayfield residents who have not mailed in their ballots can do so before 7:00 tonight at the La Plata County Courthouse on 2nd Avenue in downtown Durango.
Residents in Montezuma County also have until 7:00 tonight drop off their mail in ballot at 109 W. Main St., Room 108 in Cortez.
In other election news, the Southern Ute Indian tribe has a runoff election for Tribal Council. The candidates are Steven R. Herrera Sr., Joycelyn Dutchie, Ramona Eagle and Eldred A. Vigil Jr.
The runoff election for tribal members will be December 14th at the SunUte Community Center from 7am-7pm.

Stay tuned to KSUT for Election Results.

From KSUT Four Corners Public Radio, I'm Sarah Baumgartner
© Copyright 2017, ksut